What Is Vegan At Taco Bell?

When considering a new diet, it is important to know which of your favorite fast food chains will support you or where you may need to cut ties. 

What Is Vegan At Taco Bell?

Taco Bell, famous for their chicken crunch wrap supremes, delicious beef burritos, and chewy churro sticks, is not exactly the best place to find healthy vegan dishes.

However, there are a few items on the menu that you are definitely going to enjoy. Vegan or not. 

Below are all of the items on the Taco Bell menu that you can enjoy while sticking to your vegan lifestyle. 

1. Black Bean Chalupa Supreme 

The Black Bean Chalupa Supreme is a staple for any vegan Tex-Mex lovers. A fluffy, fried flour-based tortilla encasing black beans, tomatoes, and lettuce. Add your choice of salsas, veggies and other sauces to create something unique. 

We especially love it with jalapenos for an added heat!

2. Fiesta Veggie Burrito 

If you order this treasure from the Cravings Value Menu fresco-style and without chipotle sauce, it is vegan. Black beans, seasoned rice, guacamole, tomatoes, and Fiesta Strips, red tortilla chips,are all combined in one delectable dish.

This is the perfect snack or quick lunch to keep you feeling full and happy when on the go. 

3. Soft And Crunchy Tacos 

By simply swapping the meat for black or refried beans, you turn any taco on the menu vegan.

You also have to remove the cheese, sour cream, and chipotle sauce although you can easily stock up on veggies and sauces for all of the flavor you need. 

Try the Crunchy Taco Supreme al fresco with beans in place of the beef and pile on the extras. The Doritos Locos shells are not vegan, which is a bummer.

4. Spicy Potato Soft Taco 

As part of the dollar menu, the Spicy Potato Soft Taco is vegan. As long as it is ordered without cheese and the chipotle sauce. 

It is no secret that potatoes make everything better but on a taco? It is truly spectacular. Vegan or not, adding some onions and jalapenos to these delicious fluffy tacos is sure to put you in a good mood for the rest of the day. 

5. Cinnamon Twists 

If you are looking for something sweet on the Taco Bell menu as a vegan, you have to try the Cinnamon Twists. 

Inspired by churros, these deep fried, crispy snacks are the perfect way to finish off any meal. Especially when they are still warm and dipped into the glorious chocolate sauce. 

We won’t judge if you happen to get more than one portion!

6. Bean Burrito 

What Is Vegan At Taco Bell?

Surprisingly, the bean burrito is not vegan in its current form (it contains cheese). A warm flour tortilla encasing refried beans, red sauce, diced onions, and chopped tomatoes is all you need if you order it fresco, though. 

Don’t like refried beans? Request potatoes or black beans instead.

7. Black Bean Crunchwrap Supreme

The Crunchwrap Supreme is one of Taco Bell’s most popular items. And as a vegan you may feel all hope is lost. 

However, order the black bean version without the sour cream and nacho cheese sauce and you are golden. What you get is a hot, crispy, tortilla packed with black beans, salsa, lettuce, and a crunchy tortilla shell. 

Make it even better by adding in a portion of spicy potatoes. You won’t regret it!

8. Veggie Bowl

Simply ordering this rice bowl al fresco will convert it to veganism. If you do that, you’ll have a delicious lunch of black beans, seasoned rice, lettuce, tomatoes, and guacamole. 

Add as many vegetable toppings as you can if you want to go the additional mile.

9. Nacho Fries 

Nachos, one of the greatest inventions from the Tex-Mex cuisine. And Taco Bell made it even better. 

Nacho Fries are crispy, fluffy, and all things delicious. Order without a side of cheese sauce to keep things vegan friendly. However, make sure to add a side of pico de gallo, guacamole, and your favorite hot sauce. 

You are not going to want to share. 

10. Hash Browns 

In a bit of a pinch and need a quick breakfast? Taco Bell serves delicious, golden brown Hash Browns and a hot cup of coffee. 

While this may be simple, Taco Bell has mastered the art of a good Hash Brown. Perfect if you need something quick and cheap to get you through to lunch. 

11. Mountain Dew Baja Blast Freeze 

This famous Baja Blast is now available as a slushie. This pale blue frozen delight will keep you cool on a hot summer day. 

While the other Freezes are created with confectioner’s sugar making them unsuitable for vegans. 

How To Order Vegan 

While you can go into your local Taco Bell and request each item individually to be vegan, there is a quicker way of doing things. By ordering “fresco-style”, any item you ask for will be made vegan. 

Almost every food can be ordered al fresco, and the staff is aware that tomato sauce should be used in place of any dairy- and mayonnaise-based items.

However, you must express that you don’t want beef if you’re ordering something that usually contains beef.

We also prefer using the Taco Bell website or app over ordering ins-store. On the app you can easily make the changes you want such as removing cheese, adding potatoes extra, all by the tap of a button.

It keeps things simple and quick to get you in and out as fast as possible. 

Final Thoughts 

Unlike most fast food chains, Taco Bell is one of the easiest menus to make vegan. By making a few small changes to any item, it can be made to suit your dietary needs. While still being delicious. 

From swapping meat for beans to adding potatoes, Taco Bell has a whole range of tasty menu items for you to choose from. Add your Nacho Fries and your favorite drink for an entire meal of deliciousness!

Whether you are in need of something quick for dinner or fancy a little spice, Taco Bell has got you covered!

Jenna Priestly

1 thought on “What Is Vegan At Taco Bell?”

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *