What Is Gluten-Free At Wendy’s?

Wendy’s is the place to go if you are looking for a whole range of foods served quickly: baked potatoes, milkshakes, fries, or a nice steaming pot of chili.

But what if you’ve changed your diet to gluten-free? Does this mean you can cross Wendy’s off the list of your favorite places to eat?

What Is Gluten-Free At Wendy’s

That answer is, thankfully, no. There are plenty of gluten-free options that you can get at Wendy’s.

There’s the baked potato, a bunless burger, chili, or a nice summer salad. If you are gluten-free, then you can be sure that Wendy’s has done you a solid.

So, what exactly is there on the menu at Wendy’s that you can count on to be entirely gluten-free? Are there any ingredients that you should avoid? Take a seat and let us take you through the best gluten-free options on the Wendy’s menu.

Why Go Gluten-Free?

Well, gluten is a protein that not all people can digest properly.

Some people are very sensitive to this kind of protein, unable to break it down in the stomach, it travels to the small intestine, where it can cause some serious issues like bloating and diarrhea.

Gluten comes from rye and wheat primarily, which means that you might have to avoid bread when you are next going to Wendy’s.

However, this is not a problem, as there are plenty of dishes that don’t contain any bread or wheat-based products.

But you’ll want to have one eye on your ingredients before you place your order.

We recommend that when you go up to the server in Wendy’s, you make sure that they are aware that you are gluten-intolerant and that you’d like them to handle your food with gloves in a separate area.

The Best Gluten-Free Items At Wendy’s

1. Bunless Burgers

Whether they are chicken or beef, there is no reason why you can’t order a burger… if you leave out the bun! The bun is made from wheat and will be the major source of gluten in this meal.

All you must do is ask for the burger without the bread!

You’ll be happy to know that all the other ingredients in your meat burger, chicken, or just cooked beef, are completely free of gluten.

You can ask for the burger to be wrapped in lettuce if you don’t want to get your hands covered in grease.

2. Salad

This is a standard meal that a lot of gluten-free customers opt for. The ingredients are usually pure vegetables, maybe some cheese, and a little bit of meat.

There are no wheat or rye products in a salad, so you can order it without having to make any amends.

Cheese is also a common cause for concern amongst people who are new to the gluten-free diet.

However, you can rest assured that if you decide to have a salad with any form of cheese, then you won’t have to worry about it inflaming your condition.

3. Drinks

Drinks

Another great thing about Wendy’s is that none of their drinks contain any gluten.

The lemonade is made from lemon and soda water, so no gluten there. The same goes for the tea and the range of milkshakes that they have on offer.

If you are a vegan, then this is a different matter. You won’t be able to drink some of the milkshakes, as they contain dairy.

You also won’t be able to have Frosty’s, as these contain milk, therefore making them unsuitable for vegans.

4. Frosty

This is the famous Wendy’s frozen dessert, the favorite amongst so many visitors to this chain. But you might be wondering whether this sweet frozen treat is okay for the gluten intolerant.

Thankfully, you’ll be happy to hear that you can enjoy a frosty without worrying about any adverse after-effects.

This comes in many delicious flavors, from vanilla to chocolate. They also introduce seasonal flavors, some of which include peppermint, which will really get your tastebuds quivering.

However, this is a no-go for vegans, as it contains dairy and there are no vegan alternatives as of 2022.

5. Chili

Having a pot of chili during the winter season is amazing for warming up the body.

But does it contain any wheat or other gluten ingredients? Well, this is made largely from meat, vegetables, and beans, containing things like ground beef, tomato, onions and celery.

This stuff is very spicy, but you can add that little bit of cheese on the top to even out the texture and temper the flavor.

This is also not suitable for either vegans or vegetarians as it contains ground beef and there is no way of having it without.

6. Baked Potato

Even with a wide range of toppings including sour cream, cheese and chili, this potato is completely gluten-free.

This means no grumbling stomach or bloating after you have eaten it. This is a great meal to have when you are rushing home from the office.

7. Gluten-free Breakfast Items

If you are in a hurry to have some delicious fried food in the morning, there is a range of gluten-free breakfast options for you to choose from.

These include a sausage breakfast bowl and a bacon breakfast bowl, although you’ll have to specify that you are gluten-intolerant and want it without bread.

You can also get this one with French fries, which are made from pure potato cooked so that they are fluffy on the inside and crunchy on the outside.

You can add your own condiments to these ingredients, such as mustard, light sour cream, ketchup, and barbeque sauce, all of which are also gluten-free.

Conclusion

Those who are going gluten-free can breathe a sigh of relief, you can still go to one of the most popular fast-food restaurants in the country, you’ll just have to be quite creative with some of your menu choices. 

You just need to make sure that you alert the server to your gluten sensitivity, so they can take extra special care to avoid cross-contamination.

Jenna Priestly
Latest posts by Jenna Priestly (see all)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *