Almost everyone loves chocolate, and if you can’t eat foods that contain gluten, it might seem like you will never be able to enjoy chocolate again.
What you might not know though is that there are plenty of gluten-free chocolate options out there, and the options all taste delicious.
There is a common misconception that gluten-free food is bland and tasteless, but when you’ve finished reading this article, you will be excited to eat chocolate again.
We have put together a list of some of the best gluten-free chocolate options that are available right now. If you are craving chocolate but you don’t want to break your gluten-free diet, then read on!
What Chocolate Is Gluten-Free?
There are so many gluten-free chocolate options available to you, and after you’ve seen this list, you’ll be pleasantly surprised! Gluten-free does not mean boring, and this list really proves that.
Some examples of gluten-free chocolate include Hershey’s, Dagoba Chocolate, Alter Eco, Nestlé, Vosges Haut Chocolat, and more!
We’re going to take a closer look at each of these options and some others so you have a better idea of what to expect from each. So let’s get started!
Hershey’s is a very popular chocolate manufacturer, and it might surprise you to learn that they have gluten-free options. They don’t have a huge selection of gluten-free options, but they do have two that you will love.
The two Hershey’s gluten-free options include the Hershey’s plain milk chocolate bar and the Hershey’s milk chocolate with almonds bar.
Also, some Hershey’s Nuggets and Hershey’s Kisses are considered to be gluten-free, but you will need to thoroughly check the label on both before you consume them.
All of their other chocolate bars are not considered to be gluten-free, so make sure that you only pick from the options listed above.
Dagoba Chocolate is actually a division of Hershey’s, and they have a policy of labeling any ingredients containing wheat, barley, rye, oats, or malt.
On Hershey’s website, they claim that all Dagoba Chocolate is considered to be gluten-free, but they also say that ingredients can change, so you should always check the label before you consume anything.
Dagoba Chocolate is very tasty though, and if you haven’t tried it before, now is a perfect time!
Alter Eco chocolate is made with organic cacao that comes from Peru and Ecuador and it is refined Swiss Chocolatiers. They offer lots of incredibly delicious chocolates for you to try and almost all of their range is gluten-free.
So many of their products are so gluten-free that they are gluten-free certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO). This means that all of their products have been tested to make sure there are no traces of gluten within them.
Some of their chocolate does contain gluten though, so always check the label first.
Nestlé has such a huge range of chocolates that it’s really long-winded to put a list together. All you really need to be aware of when it comes to Nestlé products is that they have a vast list of gluten-free options.
All of their gluten-free products are clearly labeled and any that do contain gluten will clearly show that on the label too. You can choose from a lot of Nestlé products without having to worry about accidentally consuming gluten.
Vosges Haut Chocolat
Based in Chicago, Vosges Haut Chocolat has a lot of interesting and gourmet options when it comes to chocolate.
Some examples of their quirky chocolate options include Dark Chocolate and Bacon, and Red Fire dark chocolate bar with Mexican ancho and chipotle chilis!
Vosges Haut Chocolat clearly labels its gluten-free options, so it isn’t difficult to know which ones you can and can’t eat. They make it even easier if you look for gluten-free options on their website because they have a gluten-free search filter!
This chocolate brand makes and produces exclusively gluten-free chocolate, so all of its range is safe for you to consume.
On top of all their products being gluten-free, a portion of their sales goes to Wild Ophelia’s grant program to support women entrepreneurs.
Wild Ophelia has lots of interesting chocolate flavors for you to choose from, some of which include Confetti Cake & Sprinkles and Chocolate Dipped Raspberry.
They also have their own special variety of Peanut Butter Cups and Cold Brew chocolate coffee bites!
All of the chocolate bars Scharffen Berger have to offer are considered to be gluten-free, so you are safe to eat all of the options they have.
Scharffen Berger was acquired by Hershey’s in 2005 and they specialize in dark chocolate. Though they mainly manufacture dark chocolate, they do have a decent selection of milk chocolate bars as well.
This is a great gluten-free option for you to try because their chocolate tastes delicious and you don’t have to worry about breaking your gluten-free diet!
Enjoy Life’s chocolate bars are made in a dedicated gluten-free facility, and they are also free of 14 different allergens which include dairy, tree nuts, peanuts, eggs, soy, fish, and shellfish, in addition to wheat and gluten.
This is a great chocolate brand to try if you follow a gluten-free diet because you don’t have to worry about cross-contamination and they also cater to lots of other dietary needs.
Enjoy life makes three different types of chocolate bars- dark chocolate, rice milk (not regular milk, since it’s allergen-free), and rice milk crunch. Each of these chocolate bars is absolutely delicious and worth trying at least once!
If you thought you would never be able to enjoy chocolate again because of your gluten-free diet, then now is the time to celebrate because there are so many different options out there!
If you are ever unsure about something being gluten-free always check the label, but know that all the options on this list are totally safe to consume.
You will never have to worry about missing out on chocolate again!
- How Many Calories In A Bratwurst? - May 9, 2023
- How Many Calories In A McDonald’s Ice Cream Cone? - May 9, 2023
- How Many Calories In Chick-Fil-A Fries? - May 9, 2023