When you first switch over to a vegan diet, it can be quite a challenge to work out what’s ok to eat and what isn’t.
You have to constantly check labels and search for answers online, and sometimes, even that isn’t enough. But we are here to help!
Cereal is one of those comfort foods that everyone loves and when you switch over to a vegan diet, it might feel like you can’t eat cereal anymore.
What might surprise you though is that there are plenty of vegan options when it comes to cereal, you just need to look in the right place.
We’ve put together a list of some of the best vegan cereal options that you can choose from, so let’s dive straight in.
What Cereals Are Vegan?
You’ll be pleasantly surprised to learn that there are lots of vegan cereal options out there just waiting for you to choose them! Just because you follow a vegan diet, that doesn’t mean you have to kiss all the “fun” food goodbye.
Some examples of vegan cereals include Quaker, Kellogg’s Mini-Wheat Unfrosted Bite-Size, Nature’s Path, General Mills Fibre Original, Food For Life, and more!
We’re going to take a closer look at some of these cereals so you can decide which one you want to eat first.
Quaker is a well-known and classic brand that has a few vegan options for you to choose from. They don’t have as many options as some of the other cereals on this list, but you will love the choices that are available.
Cereals in their vegan range include Quaker Original Life, Quaker Puffed Rice and Puffed Wheat, Quaker Corn Bran, and Quaker Cinnamon Life.
Kellogg’s Mini-Wheats Unfrosted Bite Size
Another well-known and classic brand, Kellogg’s doesn’t really have a great selection when it comes to vegan cereal, in fact, they only really have their Unfrosted Mini-Wheats.
You have to make sure you go for the unfrosted version of this cereal, otherwise, it won’t be vegan-friendly. This cereal isn’t as easy to find as it used to be either, so that’s something to bare in mind if you go lo oking for it!
If you’re looking for a cereal brand that has a lot of vegan options, then Nature’s Path is going to be perfect for you! Nature’s Path is very clear about which of their cereals are vegan or not and they state it very clearly on the box too!
This is a great cereal option for any vegan because it has so much selection, is very straightforward, and is easy to get hold of. Here’s a list of which Nature’s Path cereal is vegan:
- Nature’s Path Flax Plus Cinnamon Flakes
- Nature’s Path Flax Plus Pecan Crunch
- Nature’s Path Flax Plus Multibran Flakes
- Nature’s Path Flax Plus Pumpkin Raisin Crunch
- Nature’s Path Flax Plus Pumpkin Raisin Bran Flakes
- Nature’s Path Flax Plus Red Berry Crunch
- Nature’s Path Sunrise Crunchy Maple Cereal
- Nature’s Path Sunrise Crunchy Vanilla Cereal
- Nature’s Path Sunrise Crunchy Cinnamon Cereal
- Nature’s Path Mesa Sunrise Flakes
- Nature’s Path Mesa Sunrise Flakes with Raisins
- Nature’s Path Optimum Power Blueberry Cinnamon Flax Cereal
- Nature’s Path Fruit Juice Corn Flakes
- Nature’s Path Millet Rice Flakes
- Nature’s Path Multigrain Oat Bran Flakes
- Nature’s Path Rice Puffs
- Nature’s Path SmartBran Cereal
- Nature’s Path Whole O’s Cereal
- Nature’s Path Kamut Puffs
As you can see, there are plenty of options to choose from, and they all taste great! Nature’s Path is a very reliable brand when it comes to vegan cereals.
General Mills Fibre Original
What most people don’t realize is that Vitamin D is present in most cereals and it’s not actually vegan! General Mills did realize this and made sure some of their Fiber One Original Bran Breakfast Cereal didn’t contain it.
This means that the Fiber One Original Bran Breakfast Cereal is completely safe and fine for vegans to eat, and you don’t have to worry about consuming anything that will break your diet.
If you didn’t know that Vitamin D wasn’t vegan, then you can take that knowledge away with you today!
Food For Life
This brand of cereal has plenty of vegan options for you to choose from. What make’s Food For Life so good is that they have a variety of tasty cereal options that are also quite healthy!
There are nine options when it comes to vegan cereal made by Food For Life. Each of these options is high in fiber and all of their ingredients are completely free from GMOs. The vegan options include:
- Almond Sprouted whole grain,
- Cinnamon raisin whole grain,
- Flax and Chia Sprouted flake,
- Flax sprouted whole grain,
- Original Flake,
- Raisin Flake,
- Sprouted Flake Low Sodium Crunchy,
- Sprouted Whole Grain cereal.
Yes, that’s right! Cap’n Crunch gets a place on this list too… but it is a bit of a gray area. Some vegans approve of Cap’n Crunch, while others don’t, so it’s really your call when it comes to eating it.
Their vegan options include Cap’n Crunch, Cap’n Crunch’s Crunch Berries, and Cap’n Crunch’s Peanut Butter Crunch, so if you are ok with eating this cereal, these three options are safe.
The reason some vegans don’t approve of Cap’n Crunch is that this brand usually contains ingredients such as artificial colors, palm oil, and sugar. It really depends on how strict of a vegan diet you follow, so the judgment call is completely up to you!
Seven Sundays don’t have a lot to offer when it comes to vegan cereal, but they do have the Real Cocoa Grain Free Sunflower Cereal.
This cereal is vegan-friendly, delicious, and gluten-free, so it’s perfect for anyone who wants to enjoy some cereal without breaking their diet.
- How Many Calories In A Bratwurst? - May 9, 2023
- How Many Calories In A McDonald’s Ice Cream Cone? - May 9, 2023
- How Many Calories In Chick-Fil-A Fries? - May 9, 2023
2 thoughts on “What Cereals Are Vegan?”
Reading your article helped me a lot and I agree with you. But I still have some doubts, can you clarify for me? I’ll keep an eye out for your answers.
I agree with your point of view, your article has given me a lot of help and benefited me a lot. Thanks. Hope you continue to write such excellent articles.