What Breads Are Vegan?

When you switch over to a vegan diet it can be quite a challenge to work out what you can and can’t eat. Some things are really obvious, but other things, like bread, can be a bit misleading at first. 

What Breads Are Vegan?

It’s a common misconception that most bread isn’t vegan, but you’d be surprised by how many different types of bread are still okay to eat on this diet. There are of course some bread you will have to avoid, but you won’t have to limit yourself too much. 

If you still want to enjoy bread but you don’t want to break your diet, then you’ve come to the right place. We are going to be taking a look at some bread that is vegan, so next time you want to buy some, you can! 

What Breads Are Vegan? 

There are actually quite a few different kinds of bread that are considered to be vegan. Most of them are naturally vegan too, so you won’t have to change your diet too much. 

Some of the most popular types of vegan bread include sourdough, pita, Ezekiel, focaccia, ciabatta, and more! The less processed bread is, the more likely it is to be vegan, so keep that in mind when it comes to buying bread for yourself. 

We’re going to be taking a look at some of these bread a bit more in-depth now, so you have a better idea of what to expect. 

Sourdough

Sourdough is a popular type of fermented bread that is usually made from flour, water, salt, and sometimes commercial baker’s yeast.

There are variations of sourdough bread out there that include animal products and non-vegan ingredients, but the vast majority of sourdough loaves are safe to eat. 

Some sourdough bread is sweetened, usually with honey, and this makes the bread non-vegan, so this is something to keep in mind. Always check the ingredients when purchasing sourdough. 

Pita Bread

Pita bread is a type of flatbread that is usually only made with flour, water, yeast, and salt. Most pita bread variations are vegan, but it’s important to know that there are some versions that are made with milk, eggs, or honey. 

Some people do debate whether or not yeast is considered vegan, because it is a living, non-plant organism, but rest assured, yeast is considered to be vegan-friendly.

Yeast is considered to be a part of the fungi kingdom, therefore it is not considered to be an animal. 

Most pita bread variations are going to vegan by default though, so more often than not you won’t have to worry about the added animal products.

But remember to check the ingredients whenever you’re looking for some pita bread as this will put your mind at ease. 

Ezekiel Bread

This is a type of bread that is made from sprouted whole grains and legumes. Ezekiel bread is actually one of the most recommended types of bread for the vegan diet because of how authentically vegan it is. 

It’s a lot healthier for you than other bread as well because it is organic, contains sprouted grains, has more nutrients and holds less sodium.

You can still check the ingredients before you buy it, but this is one of the most reliable kinds of vegan bread out there and it very rarely contains any ingredients that are non-vegan. 

Focaccia

Focaccia is a type of Italian flatbread that is usually topped with herbs. Focaccia is usually made with olive oil as well, which is one of the biggest reasons why it’s considered to be vegan. 

There are some variations of focaccia bread that are made using eggs or butter instead, but this is very rare in comparison to using olive oil.

As always, check the ingredients before you buy, but more often than not, focaccia is extremely vegan-friendly. 

Ciabatta

What Breads Are Vegan?

Like focaccia, ciabatta is another type of Italian flatbread. It usually has a hard crust and the center is quite soft and airy. Almost all versions of ciabatta are vegan-friendly, so this is another great bread for you to use for your meals. 

There is a version of ciabatta called ciabatta al latte which replaces water with milk, so if you ever see this on the ingredients list, make sure you avoid it as it is not vegan-friendly!

Ciabatta al latte is not as common as regular ciabatta though, so you won’t come across it that much. 

Baguette

Baguettes are a type of French bread that is long and thin and looks a bit like a stick. This is one of the most popular types of bread in the world and it might surprise you to find out that it’s usually 100% vegan! 

Most French baguettes are made using plant-based ingredients, such as flour, water, yeast, and salt, it will be safe to eat if you are vegan. 

One thing that is important to know is that there are lots of other bread that come in the same shape as a baguette, but they usually have a different name.

If you find a “baguette” but it has a different name, it’s probably a different kind of bread, so it’s best to avoid it! 

Kosher Bread 

Kosher bread is a type of Jewish bread and because Jewish dietary laws prohibit mixing dairy with meat, most Kosher bread is completely free of dairy. Most Kosher bread also doesn’t contain any eggs, which means they are vegan-friendly

It is important to note that there are some variations of Kosher bread that do contain eggs, and not all kinds of Kosher bread are vegan-friendly, so it’s always important to check the ingredients before you buy it. 

Conclusion

As you can see, there are plenty of vegan-friendly bread options out there. All of these types of bread are usually made with plant-based ingredients, so you don’t have to worry about breaking your diet when you eat them. 

If you’re still not sure about your bread choice, always remember to check the label as it will show you all the major ingredients used to make the bread. 

Jenna Priestly
Latest posts by Jenna Priestly (see all)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *